Breakout - Natural Cover.jpg
Law by the Gun's first new music in four years is coming to all platforms starting April 2nd with the release of their single "Breakout". 
The full EP features six new songs that will be released over the course of 2021, with the full EP available in fall 2021. 



Breakout "Live"
One Song Town


Photo By: Sigal Mizrahi


PHONE | (512) 496-3966



"Life throws us turns just like these hill country roads. Sometimes I feel like I'll crash and burn before I make it home. So turn up the Robert Earl Keen, and raise a glass to all our friends. the road goes on forever. Let's hope this party never ends."


   Law By The Gun is a band, in the truest sense of the word. A brotherhood joined through a passion for writing and performing music that comes from the soul.

The original members of Law by the Gun met and became friends while attending Texas State University in San Marcos, Texas in 2012. Dylan Gully (Vocals) and Shawn Clampitt (Bass), friends originally from Dripping Springs, Texas, answered a Craigslist post from bothers Michael Lyons (Lead) and Zak Lyons (Drums), originally from Austin, Texas. 

The group of four joined together over the course of several months writing music spawned by Dylan's experiences growing up in the Texas Hill Country. A lyric from a song called "Outlaw" birthed the name of choice for the newly formed band: "Law by the Gun". 

The group quickly became regular performers in San Marcos and the greater Central Texas Area for five years. They continued to write music and grow a loyal local fan following, culminating with the release of a full length album in 2016: "Lost in Austin".

Steven Tyson (Keyboard/Bass) joined in 2017 after the band had moved on from San Marcos to call Austin their full time home. The now five piece band continued to write and perform until bassist Shawn Clampitt moved to Minnesota in early 2018. With Shawn's departure, Steven moved to Bass full time, with the occasional five piece line-up featuring long time friend Dan Dulle (Bass/Guitar). And in early 2019, with Zak Lyons move to Dallas, Cliff Benson of Austin (Drums) became the group's full time drummer until December 2021. Reed Hoffman then joined the band and brought a new standard of playing to the skins. Reed's first show was in March 2021 and as a long time touring drummer, Reed has put many miles under his built since growing up in quiet South Dakota. Born 100% blind, Reed has a true gift for music and we are so lucky to have him as a part of Law by the Gun. 

Dylan, Michael, Steven, and Reed have solidified the core of Law by the Gun, with special appearances by Dan, and other featured musicians. 

Law by the Gun continues to perform regularly around Austin and Texas, and is promoting their new EP: "Breakout".

  Inspired by the Texas music scene and artists like Reckless Kelly, Wade Bowen, Cross Canadian Ragweed, and Robert Earl Keen, they draw influences from classic country, americana, alternative, rock, blues, and more. In that same tradition, Law By The Gun embraces their roots, but sound current, fresh, and entirely original.


Photos By: Tara Wear